Meet IVS Teacher, Theresa Twaddle

theresatwaddle-image.jpg
Mrs. Twaddle teaches career planning, entrepreneurship, and computer concepts, and is an instructional coach for Illinois Virtual School’s Purple Professional Learning Community.

Fortunate?  Lucky?  Blessed? I would say that all three of these traits are how I feel about the opportunities the Illinois Virtual School has provided me and our state’s education system.  I am so happy and honored to be part of a well-established organization of committed teachers to service students in Illinois.

I have been teaching with the Illinois Virtual School since 2003.  My expertise is in the business and computer area and I currently teach Career Planning, Entrepreneurship, and Computer Concepts. I also have served students in credit recovery in College and Career Prep I & II.  The importance of being an elective teacher allows me to provide those college and career readiness skills for the 21st century worker. Not only that, online education gives students the flexibility to balance school work and outside activities, make connections with others, and the opportunity to try different courses that may not be offered at a brick and mortar school.

My love for teaching began early on.  I always felt that I wanted to be a teacher.  It was not until after I had my children that I decided to go back to school to earn my teaching license and major in Business Education.  I received my bachelor’s degree in 1998 from Illinois State University.  From there, I have obtained two master’s degrees.  One degree is in Instructional Technology from Western Illinois University and the other is in General Administration from William Woods University.  I am also a Nationally Board Certified teacher. It is apparent that I have a love for learning and I hope that loves trickles down to my students so that they may appreciation life’s educational opportunities too.

I find it fascinating when I have students from different communities that I’ve called home. Originally, I grew up west of Chicago and moved quite frequently due to my husband’s military career. He served state-side in the Army National Guard. Every three-four years, we moved to a different town in Illinois. As I get new students enrolled in my courses, I can immediately connect with them because of the location of residencies of my students. Considering the many places I have called home, are towns where my students now live.  Currently, I reside in West Central, Illinois.

When I am not teaching, I enjoy watching old movies and foreign films with subtitles.  I have an interest in film and old videos. I love the Chicago Cubs and enjoy other professional sport teams from Illinois. I also like to read the classics.  I find myself reading one or two classic novels each summer that I really should have read when I was in high school.  Take the time to read! But my all-time favorite thing to do is to spend time with my family!

One of my favorite quotes is to have an attitude of gratitude. I tell my students to appreciate life’s offerings and take advantage of what is in front of you.  Ghandi once said to “be the change you want to see in the world,” but I would like to take that one step further and say to be the “positive” change to make the world a better place for yourself and for future generations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Meet IVS Teacher, Theresa Twaddle”

Leave a Reply

