Meet Gordon McKavanagh – IVS Social Studies Teacher

Gordon
Mr. McKavanagh teaches Civics and U.S. History for IVS.

I originally grew up in a northern suburb of Chicago, named Deerfield, Illinois. Growing up I became accustomed to trips downstate to southern Illinois to visit my mother’s side in the town of Olney. So, I am familiar with urban and rural settings within the state.

When I am not teaching, I enjoy following professional sports including everything and all things Chicago. I am a die-hard Cubs fan and will continue to keep up hope until the eventual World Series. I am an avid movie-watcher especially of comedy, action, and a few dramas.

I believe every student has the potential to learn in a safe, respectful, and quality environment. As a social sciences teacher, I work every single day to instill in students the necessary skills and intellect to function as a positive contributing member in the global society of today.

Favorite Quote: “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly. Never again can we afford to live with the narrow, provincial “outside agitator” idea. Anyone who lives inside the United States can never be considered an outsider anywhere within its bounds.” -Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a Reply

