Meet Ron Chernobrov – IVS History Teacher

I joined the faculty at IVS fairly recently, starting in 2013, but have also been teaching for eight years at Beardstown High School in central Illinois.  I live in a tiny little town out here in the cornfields, where my town might just have less people than your high school (we have roughly 3,000 residents). In addition to my high school classes, I’ve also taught for the College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, and Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield. Before I started teaching, I obtained my bachelors degree in History and Secondary Education from Knox College, and then completed my Masters degree in Instructional Design and Technology at Western Illinois University. Since then, I’ve taken a wide array of other graduate level courses in my spare time both to enhance my teaching, and simply because I think learning new things is exciting (corny, I know… but I’m a happy nerd).

I absolutely love teaching, and have taught almost every subject that could be offered by a social studies department, including World History, American History, American Government, Geography, AP European History, AP United States History, and AP World History. I also teach computer classes for the first time this year, and recently earned my endorsement an ESL (English-as-a-Second-Language) teacher.

Outside the classroom, my life isn’t terribly exciting (teaching IS my excitement), but I enjoy computers, video games, television, art, and playing with the newest member of my household, Casey, who is a Labrador retriever puppy with far too much energy for his own good. He’s totally adorable, unless you happen to be a pair of shoes… then he’s terrifying.

RonC
Mr. Chernobrov teaches in the IVS Social Studies Department
Leave a Reply

