Meet Misty Mapes – IVS English Instructor

In 1995, I graduated from Eastern Illinois University with a bachelor’s degree in English. Then I earned a master’s degree in Educational Psychology from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign. A year later, I became a National Board Certified Teacher after successfully completing the National Board Professional Teaching Standards assessments. More recently, I finished more graduate courses to become certified to teach college-level English Language Arts courses.

In addition to teaching English for Illinois Virtual School (since 2001), I teach English (freshmen through dual-credit seniors) at Teutopolis High School, where I also serve as a class sponsor, a student council advisor, and the Writing Club sponsor.

When I am not grading papers, developing curriculum, or meeting with students, I like to spend time with my family—camping, hiking, and walking; cheering on my four children at their various sporting and extra-curricular events; watching football with my family on Sunday afternoons; singing in a band with my dad; catching up with my friends on Facebook; and reading by the fireplace on a cold winter day (although I’m not a big fan of Illinois winters).

My husband Patrick and I have been married for 21 years. Brady, our oldest child, is in 10th grade; Madison is in 5th grade; Regina (Ina) is in 2nd grade; and Regino (Ino) is in 1st grade.

Mrs. Mapes has been an English Instructor, Mentor and PLC Leader for IVS.
Mrs. Mapes (right) with her family.  Mrs. Mapes has been with IVS since the pilot semester as an English Instructor, Mentor and PLC Leader.
Leave a Reply

